December 9, 2021

“To be Bach or Not to be Bach” is a program of three works for violin and harpsichord that have been attributed to Johann Sebastian Bach. Their BWV catalog numbers suggest that they are original compositions by the famed composer—but are they? Performed on period instruments, this program paints a picture of the musical world in which Bach lived.



Bach, Suite for Violin and Harpsichord in A Major, BWV 1025
 I. Fantasia
 II. Courante
 III. Entrée
 IV. Rondeau
 V. Sarabande
 VI. Menuett
 VII. Allegro
Bach, Sonata for Violin and Continuo in C Minor, BWV 1024
 I. Adagio
 II. Presto
 III. Aetuoso
 IV. Vivace
Bach, Sonata for Violin and Obbligato Harpsichord in E Major, BWV 1016
 I. Adagio
 II. Allegro
 III. Adagio ma non tanto
 IV. Allegro