May 12, 2022

Ernst Toch’s life and work are explored in historical context as pianist Makiko Hirata performs pieces in chronological order with narration from Toch’s grandson, author Lawrence Weschler. The program goes from the beginning with the Brahms and Mozart of Toch’s early days in Europe through Toch’s very last piano pieces written in Southern California in 1962.



Brahms, Six Pieces for Piano, Op. 118, No. 1
Mozart, Minuet in D Major, K. 355/576b
Schoenberg, Three Piano Pieces, Op. 11
 I. Mässige Viertel
Toch, Burlesken, Op. 31
Toch, Profiles, Op. 68
Toch, Reflections, Op. 86


Proof of vaccination is required for all attendees. See the full list of safety protocols for more information.