January 29, 2022

Dynamic composer and educator Jessie Montgomery writes musical techniques that utilize layers of strumming and lightly plucking strings in her piece, Strum for string orchestra. Mozart’s Sinfonia Concertante in E-Flat major then introduces LACO’s principal winds as soloists creating a union between the oboe, bassoon, clarinet, and horn. The program culminates with R. Strauss’ high spirited orchestral suite Le Bourgeois gentilhomme.



Jaime Martín, Conductor

Claire Brazeau, Oboe

Joshua Ranz, Clarinet

Kenneth Munday, Bassoon

Michael Thornton, Horn



Jessie Montgomery: Strum

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Sinfonia Concertante for Four Winds in E-flat Major, K. 297b

Richard Strauss: Le Bourgeois gentilhomme