May 2 – 6, 2023

Immerse yourself in the majesty of the string orchestra in this program of rich and varied compositions programmed by LACO Concertmaster and Director of Chamber Music Margaret Batjer. 

Spanning more than 800 years, the works include 12th century German Saint Hildegard Von Bingen’s “O Virtus Sapientiae”; Britten’s lovely Simple Symphony, rife with sophisticated orchestration; the compact but lively 10th Symphony in B minor written by a teenaged MendelssohnHindemith’s compelling Five Pieces for Strings; and Grieg’s popular Holberg Suite, which sits at the intersection of baroque-style dance and Nordic melodic harmonies and treatments.

Hildegard of Bingen: O Virtus Sapientiae
Benjamin Britten: Simple Symphony
Felix Medelssohn: Sinfonia No.10 in b minor
Paul Hindemith: Five PIeces for String Orchestra, Op.44
Edvard Grieg: Holberg Suite for String Orchestra, Op.40

Margaret Batjer, Curator