October 15 – 16

LACO’s 2022/23 season opens with Music Director Jaime Martín triumphantly leading the Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra in Beethoven’s transcendent Symphony No. 9.

A constellation of Southern California vocalists, featuring soloists courtesy of LA Opera’s Domingo-Colburn-Stein Young Artist program, round out this powerful and intimate performance of Beethoven’s rousing masterwork.

Contemporary composer Shelley Washington’s new work, Both, an exploration of life beyond the binary, opens the program. It is the first of three Sound Investment commissions of the season.

Shelley Washington was supported by New Music USA’s Organizational Development Fund in 2022-23.

Shelley Washington: “Both” * Sound Investment Premiere + LACO Co-Commission + West Coast Premiere
Beethoven: Symphony No.9 in D minor, op.125, “Choral”

Jaime Martin: Conductor
Tiffany Townsend, Soprano
Sarah Saturnino, Mezzo
Anthony León, Tenor
Shelley Washington: 2021/22 Sound Investment Composer